Humankind, Christmas and Action

Merry Christmas to all of you.  I hope that everyone is safe and sound with their families as they read this, and as a result, I’ll be brief.  Christmas, as it turns out, isn’t such a bad time.   Recently, I’ve been a bit of a bah humbug as a result of some rather crappy Christmases in years past, but, in looking at it in retrospect, it really had more to do with me than with my family.  Being with them now, basking not in the radiance given off by Yuletide gifts, but in the simple act of simply being together, is a gift unto itself.

Set against the backdrop of the holiday, however, is the discernible need for actions, not just affection.  The affection, in and of itself, is a gift, but in looking at the year ahead, we need to take that fleeting effervescence and translate it into concrete good for our fellow man.  Let there be peace on Earth, and goodwill towards Man.  To that, I would add also good acts towards all.

Again, Merry Christmas, or merry whatever it is you celebrate.  I wish you a Happy New Year in advance as well, and I look forward to another year of writing for you.  This is going to be a big year for me, and I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

