Glad I’m Not The First To Say It

But New Jersey governor Chris Christie is fat.  Not just chubby, he’s fat.  And with his interest in the national race continuing, his weight has suddenly a fair topic to discuss.  And it’s not just me that’s being mean.  Others are too!  Michael Kinsey and Eugene Robinson have written about the New Jersey governor.

So what are my thoughts?  I couldn’t care less.  I don’t care that Bill Clinton was screwing around on his wife (pretty much all of our greatest Presidents have).  I don’t care that LBJ was a pyschopath who regularly employed psychological abuse to get the absolute most out of his staff.  I don’t care that FDR was immobilized from the waist down.  I don’t care about the private lives of our politicians.  That is, if they don’t give a damn about mine.  At hat point, their private lives interest me, because there’s a strong chance that the more vocal they are, the more likely it is that they’re just like me in a very certain way.  But, I digress.

So why am I writing about this?  Well, I have a theory.  The country always elects the better looking candidate.  Every time.  Dukakis?  Give me a break.  That was pretty much the only guy George H.W. Bush could have beaten.  He wasn’t precisely a looker himself.  Reagan v. Carter.  Clinton v. Bush.  Clinton v. Dole.  Bush v. Gore.  Obama v. McCain.  If you see a pattern emerging here, that’s because there is one, and it’s pretty strong.  Americans vote for the guy who looks good.  Take, for example, Rick Perry.  He’s not been completely written off, but in my book, his chance has passed.  Put simply, he was a Texas firebrand who was adept at throwing out red meat to the base, and not much more.  But damn, he looked good throwing that meat out.

I think Christie would make an interesting choice for the GOP.  But, he’s fat.  And in the long haul, that just doesn’t sell with the American electorate.  I don’t care, but apparently the country does.  And in terms of operational politics, that ought to be examined.

Leave a Reply

